The Orbán Government

The fourth government of Prime Minister Viktor Orbán was formed on May 18, 2018, following the victory of the FideszChristian Democratic People’s Party (KDNP) alliance in the National Assembly Election held in Hungary the previous month.

Six of the fourteen ministers in the government are members of Fidesz, while two are members of the KDNP and six are nominal independents.

The Fourth Orbán Government


Viktor Orbán /prime minister 



Zsolt Semjén /deputy prime minister/minister without portfolio in charge of national policy, ecclesiastical affairs and nationalities 



Mihály Varga /deputy prime minister/national economy minister



Sándor Pintér /deputy prime minister/interior minister



Antal Rogán /minister in charge of the Prime Ministerial Cabinet Office



Gergely Gulyás /minister in charge of the Prime Ministry



Péter Szijjártó /minister of external economy and foreign affairs



General Tibor Benkő /minister of defense



László Trócsányi /justice minister



Miklós Kásler /human resources minister



László Palkovics /national innovation and technology minister



István Nagy /minister of agriculture and rural development



János Süli /minister without portfolio in charge of the expansion of the Paks Nuclear Power Plant



Andrea Bártfai-Mager /minister without portfolio in charge of handling national assets


Note: Andrea Bártfai-Mager is the third woman to serve in the four Orbán governments (Mrs. László Németh served as national development minister in the second Orbán cabinet from 2011 to 2014 and Ibolya Dávid served as justice minister in the first Orbán cabinet from 1998 to 2002). None of these three women have been members of Fidesz: Bátfai-Mager is an independent, while Mrs. László Németh was also an independent and Dávid Ibolya was affiliated with the Hungarian Democratic Forum.

Last updated: May 8, 2018.